Ligonier from CrossPointe Studios on Vimeo.

"City of Murals"

HISTORY: Ligonier, the second largest community in Noble County, was founded in 1835 by Isaac Cavin. Cavin built a settlement along the banks of the Elkhart River in an area known as Strawberry Valley. The town was named after his hometown of Ligonier, Pennsylvania. The town experienced slow growth until the railroad was constructed in 1852. At about the same time, Solomon Mier and Jacob Strauss, two Jewish immigrants, settled in the area and other Jewish people began to follow. Between 1852 and 1866 the town’s population grew from 50 to 1,100. In 1952, a group of local businessmen formed an industrial development committee and began transforming Ligonier into an industrial city. Today, the city boasts a large industrial park with several large employers.

POPULATION: About 4,372 according to the 2017 Census estimate.

GOVERNMENT: Ligonier is served by a full-time mayor and five city council members, all elected officials. The town also has multiple Boards and Commissions. Mayor Patty Fisel is located at 301 South Cavin Street, Suite 2, at the City Hall. Find more information at the town's website. Call (260) 894-4113.

EDUCATION: West Noble (WN) School Corporation can be reached at (260) 894-3191. WN Primary School serves kindergarten through 1st grade. WN Elementary School serves 2nd through 4th grade. WN Middle School serves 5th through 8th grade. WN High School serves 8th - 12th grade. 

UTILITIES:  Water and sewer services are provided by the city. Indiana Michigan Power, and Noble REMC, provide electric utilities. NIPSCO serves natural gas needs. LigTel offers voice, internet and other communications services. Trash removal is provided by Republic Services and Noble County Disposal.

POLICE:  The Ligonier Fire Department is located at 103 West Third Street, (260) 894-3124.

POST OFFICE: USPS located at 201 South Main Street, zip code 46767.